Thanks-giving……..

We’re going to have a pretty full house of family and friends this Turkey Day. I’ve been trying to think up something to say. Profound, not sappy. Witty, not snotty. Brief, not terse. Stick with the 3Bs: be brief, be brilliant, be gone!. (Unfortunately, I can’t do the last.)

I’ve got the basics: Love, honor, justice. Family and friends. Food, shelter, health. Especially so after Sandy, right? But then I started thinking about how I compartmentalize my day some times, into bite size, more digestible chunks. That should work for this topic What’s more, small things can be better than big things: think waist lines, mortgages, jewelry.

With that in mind, here’s my preliminary list of small things I’m thankful for:

seeing the sunrise

sleeping dogs

an empty stall in the men’s room

Saturday coffee

people saying ‘thank you’

finding Braveheart on the Spanish channel

finishing the Friday puzzle

the first crocus

unexpected wildlife: wild turkeys along the parkway, deer in the park

warm socks

an empty lane in the pool

saying I love you

tootsie pops

random acts of kindness.

starlings in the birdbath outside

watching a hawk on a sortie for a morning dove

squirrels

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanks-giving……..

  1. Edith says:

    Squirrels…really ?

  2. You had me at “finishing the Friday puzzle”. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment